Aims and scope

Parergon publishes articles on all aspects of medieval and early modern studies. We publish one open issue and one guest edited special issue each year, each with up to ten articles and a substantial book review section.

The journal's articles encompass the art, architecture, literature, theatre, music, philosophy, theology and history of the period. We are especially interested in material that crosses traditional disciplinary boundaries and takes new approaches, including explorations of the reception and afterlives of the medieval and early modern periods and work that amplifies overlooked voices, histories, works and objects. Parergon welcomes submissions that complicate and reimagine the medieval and early modern past, including work in critical race studies, gender and sexuality studies and environmental humanities, alongside other approaches and topics. We aim to be the leading journal for the work of medieval and early modern researchers from the southern hemisphere and to represent their often unique perspectives on the period.


Parergon is Australia’s oldest continuing journal devoted to the study of the medieval and early modern periods. Initially published in 1968 under the title of the Australia and New Zealand Medieval and Renaissance Society (ANZMRS) Bulletin, the journal first took the name Parergon in 1971. The original series ran for eleven years and published thirty-two volumes. The current Parergon series began in 1983 with volumes published on an annual basis with various issues released throughout the year. In 1996, with the formation of the Australian and New Zealand Association for Medieval and Early Modern Studies (ANZAMEMS), Parergon became the official journal of the association. In over fifty years of publication, Parergon has continued to attract high-quality and innovative articles, pushing the boundaries of our knowledge of the medieval and early modern with unique perspectives from Australia, New Zealand and other parts of the southern hemisphere.

SCImago Journal Rank

The SCImago Journal Rank is an indicator of the journal's prestige, relative to other scholarly journals in its field. It is based on the number of citations received by articles published in the journal. The ranking is developed from information contained in the citation database Scopus (Elsevier B.V.).

SCImago Journal & Country Rank

Editorial board


Rosalind Smith

The Australian National University

Sarah Ross

Te Herenga Waka — Victoria University of Wellington

Reviews editor

Claire McIlroy

University of Western Australia

Editorial assistant

Marina Gerzic

University of Western Australia

Advisory board

Peter Anstey

University of Sydney

Glyn S. Burgess

University of Liverpool

Conal Condren

University of New South Wales

Joost Daalder

Flinders University

David Garrioch

Monash University

Jane Hardie

University of Sydney

Stephanie Hollis

University of Auckland

Jean E. Howard

Columbia University

Elizabeth Jeffreys

Exeter College, Oxford

Thomas DaCosta Kaufmann

Princeton University

Andrew Lynch

University of Western Australia

Constant Mews

Monash University

Kim Phillips

University of Auckland

Wilfrid Prest

University of Adelaide

Lyndal Roper

Oriel College, Oxford

James Simpson

Harvard University

Stephanie Trigg

University of Melbourne

Robert S. White

University of Western Australia

Jocelyn Wogan-Browne

Fordham University

Richard Yeo

Griffith University

Charles Zika

University of Melbourne